News and media


Winners Announced for Highlands and Islands Media Awards 2014

10 February 2014

Media outlets and journalists from across the Highlands and Islands are celebrating with the announcement of the results of the Highlands and Islands Media Awards 2014.

The winners were revealed on Friday 7 Feb at the Highlands and Islands Press Ball at the New Drumossie Hotel, Inverness.

Held annually, the awards recognise excellence in journalism from writers, photographers and editors and celebrate the wide range of newspapers, broadcast media and online news services which keep the region informed.

This year the Highlands and Islands Press Ball and Media Awards is sponsored principally by Diageo with additional support for the Media Awards from Highlands and Islands Enterprise and Fujitsu. BT Scotland and Chivas Brothers have continued to support the Press Ball. Lucid PR, Events and Marketing have organised the event for a third year.

Media professionals and outlets from across the length and breadth of the region featured in the short list.

The Highlands and Islands Press Ball in its current form was started by John Ross in 1989. A previous event had been running for many years in Inverness, but its latest incarnation extended the event to include the Northern and Western Isles, Argyll and Moray as well as the Highland mainland.

Now celebrating its 26th year, the Press Ball brings together colleagues from Shetland, Orkney, the Outer Hebrides, Caithness, Sutherland, Ross-shire, Inverness, Nairn, Moray, Strathspey, Lochaber, Argyll and Skye, as well as from Aberdeen, Glasgow, Edinburgh and beyond.

The Highlands and Islands Press Ball is a charity event. This year, around £3000 was raised which will be shared by:

Scottish Mountain Rescue
Alzheimer Scotland
Macmillan Scotland
Connecting Carers


    Barron Trophy, for services to journalism
    Clive Dennier

    Bòrd na Gàidhlig Award for Best Gaelic Entry:
    Monster FM

    Best use of Digital Media:
    Stornoway Gazette

    Photographer of the Year:
    Gary Anthony, Scottish Provincial Press

    Top Shot of the Year:
    Gary Anthony, Scottish Provincial Press

    Young Journalist of the Year and the Alex Main Trophy:
    Alistair Walker, Fios

    Sports Writer of the Year:
    Keith MacKenzie, West Highland Free Press

    Reporter of the Year and the Jim Love Memorial Trophy:
    Ryan Taylor, Shetland Times

    Top Story of the Year:
    Roger Hutchinson, West Highland Free Press – Raasay shooting rights

    Feature Writer of the Year:
    Catriona MacPhee, Press and Journal

    Community Newspaper of the Year:
    Am Paipear, Uist

    Newspaper of the Year:
    Stornoway Gazette

    Diageo Journalist of the Year
    Gary Anthony, Scottish Provincial Press

During 2013 the Highland and Islands media community lost one of its most popular and respected journalists, Clive Dennier, who died as the result of a hill walking accident. It was agreed to present the Barron Trophy to Clive posthumously in recognition of the contribution he made over his lifetime to journalism.

Leave a comment

Back to top