News and media


Eilidh scoops Journalist of the Year title

09 February 2015

Eilidh Davies, the Chief Reporter with the Highland News, has been named Journalist of the Year at the annual Highlands and Islands Media Awards.

The Inverness-based journalist was the unanimous choice of the judges, having also won the Reporter of the Year title and being shortlisted in the Top Story of the Year category.

She was presented with her award at the prestigious Highlands and Islands Press Ball by Keith Miller, Distillation and Maturation Director of Diageo, the event’s principal sponsor.

Gordon Fyfe, chairman of the media awards’ judging panel, said: “Eilidh produced an excellent portfolio of news reports and features, all with a strong human interest element.  She is a worthy winner and joins an elite group of writers and photographers to lift this coveted prize.”

Newspaper of the Year is the Strathspey and Badenoch Herald and the title of Community Newspaper of the Year was retained by Am Pàipear, which serves the Uists.

The awards are held as part of the annual press ball which brings together media representatives from an area stretching from Shetland to Argyll and Moray to the Outer Hebrides.

The event was again organised by Inverness-based Lucid PR, Events and Marketing, with other support this year provided by Fujitsu, BT Scotland, Chivas, Highlands and Islands Enterprise, the National Union of Journalists and Bòrd na Gàidhlig.

The ball’s charity fundraising will benefit four charities – Alzheimer Scotland, Highland Homeless Trust, HUG Action for Mental Health and the Crocus Child Bereavement Support Service.

  • The full list of award winners is -

    Best Use of Gaelic
    Shona MacDonald, BBC Alba

    Best Use of Digital Media
    Am Pàipear Uist

    Photographer of the Year
    Trevor Martin, freelance, Inverness

    Top Shot of the Year
    Willie Urquhart, West Highland Free Press

    Young Journalist of the Year and the Alex Main Trophy
    David Kerr, Press and Journal, Inverness

    Sports Reporter of the Year
    Euan Paterson, Oban Times

    Reporter of the Year and the Jim Love Memorial Trophy
    Eilidh Davies, Highland News

    Top Story of the Year
    Jane Candlish, Press and Journal, Inverness

    Feature Writer of the Year
    Jim Tait, Shetland Times

    Community Newspaper of the Year
    Am Pàipear, Uist

    Newspaper of the Year
    Strathspey and Badenoch Herald

    Diageo Journalist of the Year
    Eilidh Davies, Highland News

    Barron Trophy for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism
    Neil MacPhail, Press and Journal, Inverness


  • For more information about the Highlands and Islands Media Awards contact

    Gordon Fyfe
    Chairman, Highlands and Islands Media Awards
    07880 783707
  • For information about the Highlands and Islands Press Ball contact

    John Ross
    01463 724593; 07730 099617


Leave a comment

Back to top