News and media


Creative talent from Highlands and Islands shortlisted at Scottish Style Awards

08 November 2013

The Scottish Style Awards 2013 will be held tomorrow night (Saturday 9 November) at the Kelvingrove in Glasgow.

Since 2005, the awards have established a reputation for discovering Scotland’s hottest fashion talent before they break through into wider commercial success.

Highlands and Islands Enterprise (HIE) is sponsoring the Womenswear Designer of the year Award in which Fort William based Judy Clark has been shortlisted alongside Henrietta Ludgate from Dingwall.

Also on the shortlist from the Highlands and Islands is the Whitefalls Spa Lodges from the Isle of Lewis, and Aldourie Castle Estate, Loch Ness, both nominated fro the Most Stylish Hotel.

The Scottish Style Awards, now a biennial event, were launched in 2005 by businesswoman Mary McGowne and have since gone on to become one of the most high-profile showcases for the creative industries in Scotland.

The awards will have separate categories for designers and men’s and women’s fashion for the first time which will also recognise the nation’s most stylish bands and musicians, hotels, retailers, restaurants and entertainment venues.

Iain Hamilton, Head of Creative Industries at HIE, said: “We have always known that the Highlands and Islands are a bit special when it comes to style. From world famous textiles such as Harris Tweed to the most exciting names in music and film to acclaimed fashion designers, inspirational performing arts to exceptional hospitality and leisure destinations, the region is a hotbed of creativity.

We are delighted to once again support the Scottish Style Awards – an incredible event that does so much to champion the Highlands and Islands’ contemporary creative talent to its hugely influential global audience of tastemakers. It reinforces the fact that talent doesn’t need to leave the Highlands and Islands to be a success.

Mary McGowne said: We couldn’t be happier or more honoured to be celebrating the style and creativity of our incredible nominees at this year’s Scottish Style Awards.

“Style, and specifically Scottish style, is almost indefinable but one thing is certain, each and every one of the finalists has it in spades.

“We should be proud to know there are so many inspirational fellow Scots out there busy doing their thing, working internationally, and representing the face of modern Scotland. Over the years, we have staged so many memorable Scottish Style Awards at iconic Kelvingrove, and in this our ninth year I can guarantee it’s set to be the best yet.

Nominees in full:

  • Most Stylish Restaurant: Castle Terrace, Edinburgh; Central Market, Glasgow; Ondine, Edinburgh; Scran & Scallie, Edinburgh; The Jefferson, Kilmarnock
  • Most Stylish Bar: Black Bird, Edinburgh; The Finnieston, Glasgow; Lucky Liquor, Edinburgh; Scotch@The Balmoral, Edinburgh; The Hill, Glasgow, above
  • Most Stylish Hotel: Aldourie Castle Estate, Loch Ness; citizenM, Glasgow; Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, Luss; Mhor 84 Motel, Balquhidder; Whitefalls Spa Lodges, Breasclete, Isle of Lewis
  • Most Stylish Entertainment Venue: SSE Hydro, Glasgow; Kokomo, Glasgow; Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh; The Berkeley Suite, Glasgow; The Riverside Museum, Glasgow
  • Most Stylish Retailer: Emporio Armani, Glasgow and Edinburgh; Cruise, Glasgow; Miu Miu, Glasgow; Strathberry of Scotland, Edinburgh; Walker Slater, Edinburgh
  • Most Stylish Male: Dauvit Alexander; Martin Compston, right; Michael Bonsor; Patrick Grant; Howie Nicholsby
  • Most Stylish Female: Sophie Kennedy Clark; Susie Wolff; Arielle Free; Sara MacDonald; Pollyanna McIntosh
  • Most Stylish Band/Musician: Chvrches; Éclair Fifi; Glasvegas; The Cuban Brothers; Nina Nesbitt
  • Womenswear Designer of the Year: Henrietta Ludgate; Philip Colbert for The Rodnik Band; Judy Clark; Aimee McWilliams; Deetz
  • Menswear Designer of the Year: Patrick Grant for E.Tautz; Kenneth McKenzie for 6876; Cathal McAteer for Folk; Gianni Collarossi for Duchamp; Kestin Hare for Common People

The Scottish Style Awards will be held on 9 November.

Leave a comment

Back to top